Nassau County is a political subdivision of the State of Florida. It was created for civil and political purposes and acts under powers given to it by the State. The County's governing authority is the Nassau County Board of Commissioners (BOCC).

The BOCC has given us the support necessary to execute our award-winning marketing plans and the assets to do the job. In return we have surpassed our goals in every category. Two times during the economic downturn the BOCC increased the bed tax which allowed us to grow our tourism efforts and increase overall visitation and the economic impact to our community.


         District 1:   John F. Martin            (904) 570-2594          Term: Nov 2020 - Nov 2024

         District 2:  Hupp Huppman        (904) 319-0686   Term: Nov 2022 - Nov 2026

         District 3:  Jeff Gray                      (904) 570-1946            Term: Nov 2020 - Nov 2024

         District 4:  Alyson McCullough  (904) 319-0689 Term: Nov 2018 - Nov 2026

         District 5:  Klynt A. Farmer          (904) 570-1357          Term: Nov 2020 - Nov 2024

County Manager:   Taco Pope    (904) 530-6010


Created by the Nassau County BOCC in 1988, the Amelia Island Tourist Development Council (AITDC) oversees the development and marketing of Amelia Island as a world-class tourism destination.

                                        John Martin                  Nassau County BOCC                        Chair: 2023-2026

                                      Joshua Summers       Omni Amelia Island Resort            Term: 2023-2024

                                        John Beasley               Town of Hilliard                                    Term: 2021-2024                                      

                                       Bob Hartman                Residence Inn Amelia Island           Term: 2020-2024

                                        Barbara Halverstadt    Jacksonville Aviation Authority       Term: 2020-2026

                                        Phyllis Davis                  Amelia Island Museum of History  Term: 2020-2022

                                        Bradley Bean                City of Fernandina Beach                 Term: 2023-2026

                                        William (Will) Wiest     Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island               Term:  2020-2024

                                        Lisa West                        Addison on Amelia                            Term:  2020-2026

                                        Jack Healan                   Ex-Officio


The Amelia Island Convention & Visitors Bureau (AICVB) was created by the BOCC in 2008 as the management marketing company for the AITDC, which is responsible for expenditure of the county’s 5% tourism development tax. This “bed tax” is a user fee collected from overnight visitors staying in short-term (less than 6 months) accommodations on Amelia Island.

The destination organization is accredited by the Destination Marketing Accreditation Program (DMAP) of Destinations International, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, D.C., 20036, USA, Ph. 202-296-7888. The DMAP seal is awarded in recognition of the organization's commitment to industry excellence and meeting the industry standard for performance and accountability of destination organizations around the world.

                              President & CEO:                                       Gil Langley         

                              Vice President:                                           Paul Beirnes      

                              Visitor Center Manager:                            Deb Nordstrom

                              Executive Assistant:                                  Elaine Roberts  

                              Director of Marketing:                               Karen Hadley    

                              Finance & Budget Manager:                   Linda Van Haren

                              Social Media Manager:                             Madison Jozsa 

                              Director of Interactive Engagement:     Marilou Welling

                              Director of Special Events:                       Mariela Murphy

                              Director of Program Development:       Maurie Dugger 

                              Partner Relations Manager:                     Nate Aron          


                              Public Relations:                                        Britney Guertin   (386) 677-7000

1750 South 14th Street, Suite 200 Fernandina Beach, FL 32034

Main Number: 904-277-4369

General information: